Designer of the Week - Luli Girl

Name: Amy Cork

Where do you live: The beautiful Kitsap Peninsula outside of Seattle

How old are you? 34

Do you have any children, if so what ages? My sweet baby girl is already 4 years old!

Current auctions: luli*girl

Add luli*girl to your favorite eBay sellers list: Click Here:


1. When did you get started sewing and creating? Who taught you?

I got hooked on sewing in jr high home-ec class at 12. I continued to sew through high school and went on to The School of the Art Institute of Chicago where I spent 3 years in the fashion design program. Its one of the best fashion design programs in the country, but the students need to live and breath fashion…I just wasn't that dedicate OR fashionable! I ended up majoring in another area of art. But I sure learned how to sew and design while I there! I was all sewed and knitted out, until several years later when I became pregnant and decided to break out the dusty Singer.

2. When did you start selling your designs on eBay? Do you sell anywhere else besides eBay, if so where? (example, web site, local boutique) What did you do before eBay?

I started off on eBay as a beaded jewelry maker back in 1998, followed by selling knitted designs, and then paintings which I did for several years. I sold my first true "boutique" outfit in 2002. I also sell on my website (www.luligirl.com). Before eBay? I spent a lot less time at my computer!!!

2a. Do you remember the first outfit you sold on eBay. Do you have a picture? What was it and what did it sell for?

I remember the first non-knitted, boutique outfit I sold which was an…ummm…interesting purple chenille confection. It sold for $50. FORTUNATELY I no longer have a photo.

3. How did you decide upon your name?

Luli is a nickname my parents gave me when I was little. It just seemed fitting for a line of little girls dresses.

4. Do you belong to any boutique group and if so which one? How did you get started in that group? What do you like most about your particular group?

I am so very happy to be a Threadin' Bettie! A few of us started the Betties back in spring 2003. We admired each others work but really just wanted a place where we could chat about fashion, music and family. As we came across other designers we wanted to get to know better, the Betties slowly grew. I believe that slow growth is the key to our success and longevity…Each person we've added to the group has brought something unique to the mix. I'm always amazed at the depth of the friendships I've developed with the girls! And the best part is that after spending time with many of the Betties "in real life", I know that these friendships are the real thing.

5. What is your favorite thing to create? (example: vintage style dresses, totes, overalls, etc) Why?

I like making 3 or 4 piece casual dress sets. I generally like simple, clean silhouettes that I can use as sort of a "canvas" for appliqué, patchwork and other surprises…But every once in a while I bust out with a frilly frock just for fun!

6. What are your favorite types of fabrics or fabric designers?

I work almost exclusively in cotton, both new and vintage. Of course Amy Butler is always a favorite. It needs to be a 100% natural fiber…Cotton, linen…I just don't like the feel of synthetics.

7. Where and when do you do most of your sewing? Are you neat about it or do you have fabric covering the floor!

II try to do most of my sewing when my daughter is at preschool or after she falls asleep. My dining room has become a sewing studio because my house is just too small! The only time my dining room converts back to a place to eat is when my in-laws are in town. While I'm actually sewing I let all my scraps fall to the floor and they seem to get tracked all over the house. But I'm nutty about making sure my sewing area is perfectly straightened before I go to bed…My whole house can be a mess, but my sewing area will be pristine!

8. What other things do you enjoy besides sewing?

Aside from my family, my other great love is animals. I've been a veterinary nurse and wildlife rehabilitator for 12 years. I took 18 months off after my daughter was born, but eventually went back to work just 1 day/week. I feel incredibly lucky to essentially be a SAHM, yet keep up with my chosen field a few hours a week. It's a perfect balance. My hubby Jon and I also love snowboarding but Mother Nature has not been cooperating with the snow here in WA, the last couple years.

Some past Luli Girl Designs

To view past Designers of the Week Click Here

Our Sponsors